error_outline Your ability to perform these actions may depend on the privilege settings of your school. Please contact your school administrators if you do not have permission to perform certain actions.
Through the taking tab you can manage how students can access assignments, set-up Ans proctoring, decide what students can do after submitting, and configure prerequisites. To access the available options for your assignment type, follow the next steps:
- Navigate to your assignment.
- Click play_circle_outline Taking in the menu at the top.
- Click the settings-icon to open the Taking settings.
- Adjust the necessary settings.
- Click Update to save the adjustments.
Below is a more detailed description of each option that can be enabled for your digital test.
Access
Access
The following options are specific accessibility permissions to allow participants access to their digital test.
-
Access code
Participants are required to enter an access code to access the assignment. Please note that from 1 January 2027 onwards this can no longer be managed on assignment-level and is replaced by an access code on each timeslot. More information can be found here.
When you click this checkbox you are prompted to type a code. While students cannot actually start the assignment until the starting time, they can already enter the access code 15 minutes before the test to make sure they are ready to start.
-
Only allow starting from the selected locations' networks
Participants can only start their test from the set location. Please note that from 1 January 2027 onwards this can no longer be managed on assignment-level and is replaced by a location-restrictions on each timeslot. More information can be found here.
-
Block other pages in this platform until participants submit
If you want to block your participants from leaving the current test to look at other assignments, such as a previous practice test, you can enable this option to restrict access. Once the participants have started the test, they are not able to leave the until they have submitted their result.
-
Multiple attempts
For a practice test, you may want to allow participants to take the test multiple times. You can configure the following options:- Multiple attempts: Enable this option to allow participants to take the assignment multiple times. By default, participants can make an unlimited number of attempts. Disabling this option limits participants to one attempt.
- Limit number of attempts: Enable this option to set a maximum number of attempts. Enter a number between 2 and 999 in the field that appears next to the checkbox. If this option is disabled, participants can make an unlimited number of attempts.
Ans will always show the highest mark of all attempts in the results overview and also export the highest mark when exporting the results. If the mark calculation is set to 'None', the attempt with the highest points is exported.
Proctoring for desktop devices
Proctoring for desktop devices
Ans proctoring enables you to monitor if participants exit the tab or if they copy-paste content into their assignment and reports this in the taking tab. These proctoring settings are only available for digital tests taken on desktop devices and laptops, more information about it can be found here.
There are two settings that can be enabled:
-
Report when participants leave the test tab
Reports instances where a participant switches away from the tab during a digital test. Any activity occurring outside the Ans test page is also recorded as a tab switch.
Ans listens for "window blur" (and "focus") events to detect when a user leaves or returns to a tab. These events identify when a user navigates away from a tab or window ("blur") and when they return to it ("focus").
-
Report when participants copy, cut or paste content
Reports instances where a participant cuts or pastes content during a digital test.
Ans listens for "window paste" events to intercept paste actions. This event captures paste operations, allowing the pasted content to be processed, monitored, or utilized within the web application.
After submitting
After submitting
The After submitting settings allow you to configure what participants can view and do immediately after submitting their assignment. You can enable the following options:
-
Show preliminary result immediately after submission
The preliminary result shows the point score of automatically graded questions. If the assignment is graded fully automatically, the mark and letter grade are also shown.
-
Allow participants to leave a comment after submission
This way students can immediately share their feedback about the test after submitting. This is visible to instructors in the participant's result.
Prerequisites
Prerequisites
Prerequisites allow you to set requirements that participants must meet before they can access an assignment. These requirements are based on whether participants have completed another assignment or achieved a specific mark. Participants can view the prerequisites they need to meet before taking the assignment.
To configure a prerequisite, click + New prerequisite and select an assignment. Prerequisites can only be configured using assignments from the same course. It is possible to set multiple prerequisites that need to be completed by participants.
You can choose from the following options:
- Completed: The participant must have completed the selected assignment.
- Completed with mark of at least: The participant must have completed the selected assignment with a mark equal to or higher than the specified mark.
- Completed with mark lower than: The participant must have completed the selected assignment with a mark lower than the specified mark.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.