Messages in Ans are used to ask a question about the grades or grading by learners to instructors or reviewers. Messages come in in the inbox and can be stored in the archive.
Allow students to ask questions
- Go the tab 'Results' in a course.
- Click GET STARTED in the block 'Publish results'.
- Set all options and select 'Allow students to ask questions'.
- Click PUBLISH.
Read & reply a message
- When a message has been received, a red dot will appear in the right top of the window on top of the message icon. Also in different windows it can be seen that a message has been received, as can be read in this article.
- Click on the message icon on the blue navigation bar where the red dot is shown. Now all messages in your inbox are shown per course. In the image below, one message has been received for the course 'Test course 2 18/19', for the assignment 'Online test'. Also, it is indicated that one question has already been answered and closed before.
- Click the bar to find out what the message is about. You will automatically go to the assignment that the message is about. Here you can see that one message has been received for this assignment (the blue button).
- Click the blue button which says the number of messages that have been received to go through them all. They will be shown sequentially. The grading, as well as the work of the student, will be shown now, including the message of the student. In the image below, the students send the message 'Why did I get no points for the second question?'. You can respond to the question in the text box above the message of the student. After typing your response, you will have two options:
- Save as draft: This function will allow you to save the response as draft (like a concept e-mail) so the response can be altered after reading and responding to all questions so all students will be treated equally. All draft messages can be sent later on in one click all together. This will be shown in point 7 of this article.
- Send: This function will send the response directly to the student. The message cannot be altered later on.
- After sending a reply to a message, the conversation will be closed automatically. A conversation can also be closed without responding to the message by clicking CLOSE CONVERSATION as seen in the image above next to the buttons SAVE AS DRAFT and SEND. Closing a conversation means that both the student as the instructor (you) cannot send messages anymore. A closed conversation can be opened again by the instructor.
- Click NEXT to go to the next message of a student, and repeat this until all messages have been replied. The button NEXT has been shown in the image above in the left bottom corner.
- To send all draft replies, go back to the review overview by clicking overview or going back to the assignment. As seen in the image below, you can now see a purple button '1 draft'. This means that one reply is saved as a draft, which of course can be a lot more drafts. The drafts can be viewed and altered by clicking the purple button. To send all drafts, click the black button Send drafts. Next, click Confirm in the pop-up window and all drafts will be sent to the students. Now all drafts are send and the conversations are all closed, as can be seen in the image below.